COVID-19 Member Resources: Hawaii

COVID-19 Member Resources: Hawaii

Menu (click to scroll)

UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE

Use When:
You’ve lost your job or had hours reduced.

General Eligibility

  1. You must be either totally unemployed, or working less than your normal hours and earning less than your weekly benefit amount.
  2. You may be disqualified for eligibility for any of the following reasons:
    • You voluntarily quit your job without good cause.
    • You were discharged for misconduct connected with your work.
    • You refused a referral or an offer of suitable work without good cause.
    • You are unemployed because of a work stoppage at your establishment due to a labor dispute.
    • You are receiving or seeking other unemployment insurance benefits.
    • You committed fraud to collect unemployment insurance benefits.

Find more information on eligibility here.

COVID-19 Eligibility

  • Job loss / hours reduction for reasons due to coronavirus (COVID-19).
  • Additional information on COVID-19 unemployment insurance from the Hawaii Department of Labor can be found here.

Benefit Details
Your weekly benefit amount is calculated by dividing the wages in the highest quarter of your “base period” (the first 4 of the last 5 completed calendar quarters) by 21. However, your weekly benefit amount cannot be more than the maximum weekly benefit amount, which is determined each year by law. Click here to view the maximum weekly benefit amount.

How to File
The online application can be found here.

Additional Information
Additional information on unemployment insurance from the Hawaii Department of Labor can be found here.

TEMPORARY DISABILITY INSURANCE (TDI)

Use When:
You have at least 14 weeks of Hawaii employment during each of which you were paid for 20 hours or more, and earned not less than $400 in the 52 weeks preceding the first day of disability. The 14 weeks need not be consecutive nor with only one employer.

General Eligibility

  1. Your injury or illness is not work related; not caused by your job.
  2. Your disability is certified by and you are under the care of a licensed professional or accredited practitioner of a faith-healing group.
  3. You were employed immediately before the date you suffered your injury or illness, or if you were separated from your job, your disability occurred within two weeks from your last day of work.

COVID-19 Eligibility

  • You would have needed to have a minimum of 20 hours for the 14 weeks in the previous four completed calendar quarters. Your contraction or self-quarantine cannot because of a work-related injury. You also cannot be receiving unemployment insurance or workers’ compensation benefits.
  • Additional information on COVID-19 TDI from the Hawaii Department of Labor can be found here.

Benefit Details

  • 58% of your average weekly wages
  • A maximum of $650 per week

How to File
The “Claim for Disability Benefits” form (Form TDI-45) is not available online. Employees can ask their employer for a claim form or contact the state at:

  • Oahu — (808) 586-9188
  • Hilo — (808) 974-6464
  • Maui — (808) 243-5322

Check a recent paystub from your employer for the employer’s complete name as shown on the paystub. We will need this information to provide you the correct form.

Additional Information
Additional information on TDI from the Hawaii Department of Labor can be found here.

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

Use When:
You are injured or become sick due to your job.

General Eligibility
Most full-time and part-time employees who suffer from any injury or disease which results from work or working conditions are covered.

COVID-19 Eligibility

  • If an employee contracts COVID-19, and contraction is directly attributable to employment duties.
  • Additional information on COVID-19 workers’ compensation from the Hawaii Department of Labor can be found here.

Benefit Details

  • Medical treatment.
  • Temporary total disability benefits.
  • Permanent partial disability benefits.
  • Permanent total disability benefits.
  • Disfigurement payments.
  • Death payments due to a surviving spouse and dependent children.
  • Vocational rehabilitation.

How to File

  • Immediately report the injury to your immediate supervisor or employer. You can do this orally or in writing.
  • Form WC-5, the “Employee Claim” form, can be found here.
  • Form WC-2, the “Physician’s Report” form, can be found here.

Additional Information
Additional information on workers’ compensation from the Hawaii Department of Labor can be found here.

ADDITIONAL RESOURCES

Author Image
Michael Applegate

Pacific Media Workers Executive Officer